No announcement yet.

What's More Important: Art or Science?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's More Important: Art or Science?

And go! It's 2:25am, I'm too tired to post due to studying philosophy all night, so I shall post eventually tomorrow. But don't let that stop you from positing your opinion.
    Violence has resolved more conflicts than anything else. The contrary opinion that violence doesn't solve anything is merely wishful thinking at its worst. - Starship Troopers

Science feeds people.
    Art is pretty.

Comment

I'm an artist. I make jewelry, and I hope to be able to do it for a living (or at least some extra spending money for my husband and I.) I also used to love to draw and write and have created vast worlds worth of stories and characters.

That being said, I think science is more important.

Why? Because art didn't identify and remove my diseased, stone-filled gall bladder earlier this year and it's not going to help me recover from the UTI I have right now.

Comment

Why does it have to be one is more important than the other? They're both important for different ways and for different reasons.

Art is more than 'pretty'. It feeds the soul and provides social commentary. I realize it's a hard concept for Americans, but we have never had a strong fine arts culture in this country. There's no appreciation for it among the middle and lower classes, which is why the average theatre ticket buyer is a 60-70 year old white upper class woman. I can't speak for visual art or music, but in theatre we are desperately trying to bring in younger audiences.* But it's a struggle. I see it in the attitudes of my Intro students - they don't know and they don't care. They don't like being in a situation where they actually have to turn off their cell phones and unplug from their virtual world to immerse themselves in someplace else.