random legal question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• random legal question

I've heard that if you're in legal trouble, and want to plead guilty, the court typically won't accept it if you're like "Well, I'll plead guilty but I really didn't do it." Just curious what would happen if like immediately after the trial you're being all loudmouthed about it. Do they throw you back in jail or something?

It's called pleading nolo contendre. Aka, no contest.

It means that you are not accepting guilt for the crime, but you aren't going to bother fighting it, either.

Everything else happens as if you were found guilty, just without the actual guilty verdict.

Unfortunately, I can't remember if we got into whether you could be tried later or not. And my info is all based on California law, seeing as that's where I studied.

^-.-^
    Faith is about what you do. It's about aspiring to be better and nobler and kinder than you are. It's about making sacrifices for the good of others. - Dresden

Comment

Isnt paying a ticket about the same thing? In this example anyway.

You come to a stop sign and stop, look both ways and see its clear. But as you proceed through the intersection some one hits you, either because of excessive speed or say they turned out of a parking lot or driveway.

If no one else is around, and the other person isnt honest, the law is going to ticket you for failure to yield. You cant possibly prove you are innocent and what little evidence there is points that you ran a stop sign.

Would that be a good example of no contest?

Comment

Pleading "No Contest" has its ups and downs and is usually used to keep a guilty conviction to be used against you in a future trial, like a civil one. It can also be used for instances where you've got an explanation of what you did to try and make it justifiable.