Geez, the election's over already!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Geez, the election's over already!

Ran into some suck at Golden Corral today, and decided it was too dicey for CS, so I'm posting it here.

I went to the GC today for an executive board meeting of a professional association I belong to (because I'm an officer); we decided to reserve a room and eat while we discussed business.

So I get in line at the cashier to pay for lunch. There's this old guy (OG) ahead of me. He looks at the logo on my jacket, which is the logo for my martial arts school. You really couldn't see it that well from the way my jacket was hanging open. It has a lot of red, white and blue (and some yellow) in it, and I guess he mistook it for a Romney button.

OG: So, we almost got Romney in there.

Me: (not wanting an argument). I suppose. But I voted for Obama.

OG: (not taking the hint) Well, you know they tried to bring the voting machines down in Ohio so our guy wouldn't win, just like they did to Bush in '04. They tried to hack it 50,000 times but they couldn't get in.

Me: I don't believe that happened. No one tried to rig the election.

OG: it's only going to get worse.

Thankfully, I'd paid by then, and I just walked away. I didn't have time to get into a big political argument in public. But really. What is it with these old geezers who think they can just start shoving their opinions in a younger person's face just because they're old. I can't convey the emotion, but I definitely got the impression he was playing the senior citizien you shouldn't disagree with me card.
    Good news! Your insurance company says they'll cover you. Unfortunately, they also say it will be with dirt.

Honestly, that guy sounded like he was in his own echo chamber - he didn't seem to be hearing a thing you said.

^-.-^