Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Congress pushes back on healthier school lunches

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/s...ryId=142329746

Not sure if this has been posted anywhere else. It would be ideal, of course, if parents actually were involved enough in their kids' lives to pack them a healthy lunch every day. Unfortunately, that's not the case in most public schools...when I was a substitute teacher, many kids would have their breakfast, lunch, AND an afternoon snack provided by the school. So does the government really have ultimate responsibility to look out for these kids' interests? If it could be handled on the local level, what would you suggest?

Well... they've got one point right, at least. Whole grain crust just doesn't work on pizza.
    "My in-laws are country people and at night you can hear their distinctive howl."

Comment

And in some cases, forcing healthy food on kids doesn't always work. They find other ways to get what they want, either bringing it from home or leaving the school to get it. Here in town, when a high school cafeteria banned anything remotely junky, the students just migrated to the cafeteria of a local hospital. In essence, they traded one government cafeteria for another. At the hospital they could get the stuff they liked, at least.

Unfortunately some of the kids doing this seemed to think that because they were off school grounds, they could get away with anything, and there started to be lots of problems with loud noise, horseplay, and even food fights. So the hospital cafeteria put security in there to keep the teens out.

I suppose schools could forbid students from leaving for lunch at all, but that would just screw over the kids who go home every day for lunch.

Comment