Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Racy photo banned from yearbook

Link

A student opted to have her photo taken wearing a shawl for a top. The yearbook will not print the photo due to it being "unprofessional". IMO, the photo is tasteful but does violate most school dress codes. Should the school enforce dress codes on senior photos?

I think that depends on the intended nature of the photos, and of the dress code. And whether the person was told it was inappropriate before or after it was too late to have the photo redone.
    "My in-laws are country people and at night you can hear their distinctive howl."

Comment

It's absolutely inappropriate. The fact that they even offered to publish the photo in her senior ad is pretty generous. Honestly, I'd like to have a word or two with the photographer, particularly if she was 17 when they were taken.

Comment

As a professional photographer, I can tell you - nothing in that photo was illegal, and I would be totally comfortable taking that picture even if she was 17 at the time, as there is nothing exposed in a photo like that. If I were in the school faculty, I would absolutely deny that photo as being published in a yearbook or any school associated material, but I have no problems taking that pictures especially if I'm being paid for it.

Comment

The school has a right to enforce the dress code within their own publication. I'm just questioning if she really wants to be "that girl".

Because if they've been willing to allow students to take free shots of themselves for senior pictures as long as they're, you know, appropriate, and she wins her little protest, they're probably going to go to standard shirt and dress pictures for their seniors just to prevent such a turn of events.
          I has a blog!

Comment