UPS and timely shipping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UPS and timely shipping

I work as a shipping clerk. My job is to take packages that the stock clerks collected, box them, and ship them via USPS/FedEx/UPS (plus others), as requested by our customers. Most of the time, this works just fine.

However, sometimes UPS loses Ground packages in their warehouses. They either get shoved in a corner to be dealt with later, or get tossed on a truck to the wrong distro hub (such as one entire bag of packages that got sent to New York once).

And once in a while, as a result of this, we get a customer who is VERY ANGRY that their Ground shipment isn't showing up in UPS Tracking the very next business day. The most recent being a sterling example of the sort of behavior I'm pissed about.

The customer won an eBay auction on Thursday evening. His widget was dutifully collected from the stock shelves by one of our stock guys, and brought with its packing slips to shipping. I boxed it, shipped it, and sent it out the door with the rest of the day's shipments. It was, in every way, a completely normal transaction.

So Monday comes, and we get an email from the customer. A very angry, aggressive email about how there's no tracking information - it just shows that a shipping label was printed - and that the UPS customer service people told him that means that it was never picked up here, and that it must still be here. Which is flat out wrong, and probably a blatant lie (either by the customer in claiming to have talked to UPS, or by the UPS CSR in claiming that it ONLY means that it hasn't been picked up).