"Continuous Improvement"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Continuous Improvement"

As I said in CS, I have no retail experience, but I have known companies to change things around even when not needed. Most of the time, those changes result in epic fail.

For example, youtube. Who else hates the new beta channel design? They are not only slow as hell, but the navigation sucks. All of the videos are now in a small space on the upper right corner and you have to do endless scrolling to find the right video. Before, all of the videos were at the bottom of the page and they listed 20 at a time. If someone had 200 videos, there were 10 pages of 20 videos each to scroll through which was easy. The current design forces you to scroll through one long list of videos and doesn't have the page option like the old one did. The videos, the most important part of a channel are all crammed in one little corner.

That's just one example, but it's one of many times when something had changed for the worst. Well in one of my business classes, I learned of something called "continuous improvement" which I think sheds some light on idiotic decisions. It basically says to always be trying to improve things and to never be satisfied with the way things are. What a crock of shit that is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NEVER be satisfied with things the way they are? No wonder I'm always hearing about over critical managers! Even when things are close to perfect, it's still not good enough! This also explains why companies are always changing shit. Now there's nothing wrong with trying to improve things, but there comes a time when you gotta say "enough is enough!!". Like youtube for instance, the old channel design was FINE. There was no need to change it, but they changed it and now it's even worse off than before! Yeah, real great "continuous improvement" that is!