Full of shit experts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Full of shit experts

They're everywhere. That guy who knows everything about computers, cars, the law, or just mowing lawns. And they don't know absolutely nothing - on the contary, they know just enough to be dangerous.

And they ruin it for those of us who actually have some inkling of what we're talking about.

For instance I'm fairly good with computers. I'm no techie by any means, but I'm just good as using them and making them work when they're being stubborn because I know where to look to try and fix the problem. At the very least, I can tell you whether or not the problem you're having is something that can be fixed cheaply or if you need to sink some serious cash into it.

And I have the added advantage of actually knowing when I'm out of my league and not to screw with things. I know when to stop.

This would come in handy at work. They use computers there, and none of them really know how to use a computer, and they always have problems. Maybe I could fix them, maybe not, but I could definitely be a good fresh pair of eyes and with my computer-saavy and their knowledge of what needs to be done we might even be able to get things up and running in a timely fashion. This would score me major brownie points with the bosses when they realize I just saved them time and money.

But no. Because lots of people are "computer experts" and will lie and bullshit their way into being able to look like they know something, and then they fuck it all up. So the standard is that unless there are real credentials involved, no one touchie the computer.

So I lose an opportunity to prove myself and advance. Because of stupid people.

I get what you're saying, although I'm not very techy.

I love people who know "everything". Especially when they are always right there to correct or discredit you when you make a statement or a guess, or even when you are fairly certain you know what you're saying.