I enlisted, get off my ass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I enlisted, get off my ass

I recently enlisted in the Air National Guard because I have been out of college for almost two years and have not done shit with my life and need a purpose outside of my crap job, and welcome the challenge.

I am already getting sick of people criticizing a choice, especially from those I did not seek input from, as most of my friends and family support the decision. It annoys me to get put down for making the choices I make. Because I have a 4 year degree, technically I COULD have enlisted as an officer..... if they have a spot available or if I were to go Active duty instead of guard and then get to OCS. However, I prefer to be hands on and hate paperwork, which as my understanding is mostly what the commissioned officers do. The officer shit mainly comes from people my parents talk to who used to be in the military or their friends kids are in the military.

My sister is being the biggest bitch saying "I should go active duty army because if I'm going to be dumb enough to enlist at least they make you an E-4, if you don't make them send you to Officer School. Along with that Gaurd units are only for people who are pussies or have REAL jobs, worse so it being AF they just hide in the rear while the army and marines protect them."