It's not your money

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's not your money

Background I work as a customer service person in a call center...

Part of my job is, sad to say, to kiss the customers behind. You might think me not serious..here are some of the 'rules' I have to go by.

If a customer is upset..I am not only authorized but expected to give them discounts and gift cards. Up to and including $75.

I need the money, so I have no choice but to give things away to SC's and Ew's all the time..but woe to me if I complain to anybody around here (where I live). "Why do you care..it's not your money."

No..no its not. It just irks me to no end that the good customers end up paying for the whiners and EW's. Now if it is something legit, I have absolutely no issue helping set it right. I am good at getting it set right without giving out a dime. Customers tend to go away happy, without me having to give one red cent of the companies money away.

Yet I am told "You should be giving them discounts and such..so they will give surveys and make you look good."

Anyhow..beside the point. As I said..no none of it comes out of my pocket..at all. In fact I am making money when I am giving the companies money away (barely above min wage but still...money). I can give away money till the cows come home (though a set limit per customer PER call). Doesn't mean I have to like it, or think it is the best thing since butter.

You have every right to be upset, because the actual paying customers are the ones who suffer at the hands of the bottom feeders and deadbeats. And many a good customer can turn into an evil one on the phone when they see how their rates got increased or whatnot.

Comment

Originally posted by blas87 View Post