"You need to have hope"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "You need to have hope"

I am growing to hate that sentence. Seriously, what is there hope for? I have no experience in my field, looking for a job in the worst job market sinse the 30s, and too much education to settle for a lower paying job to make things work (not that I haven't tried, but employers have told me point blank that they did not want someone who would bolt as soon as the economy improves... which means they have a lot more hope for the future than I do). Speaking of the economy improving, it hasn't improved in the last 5 years, why should I think that will magically change?
    And being told that I'm a great person... by what standard?
    I'm not physically attractive, I'm not in good physical shape, hell, I'm a fat lazy bastard. I'm fat enough that even as a straight man I'd be in trouble, but as a gay man, I might as well have boils. I have a husband who loves me despite this, but very few gay people want to be friends with the fat gay couple... unless we were crazy hat ladies or had some other quirk to make up for it, but no, we are average run of the mill guys, and the gay community is just as fucking shallow as our critics accuse us of being.
    So, I'm not a great person by that standard, how about my skills as a member of society... oh, that's right, I'm a looter... I survive off of other people's work, and nothing I have done has even come close to changing that, so definitely not a great person by that standard.
    I'm not religious, I can't say that I'm a good person because God loves me.
    The people who's job it is to tell if someone has worth have all agreed that I don't, so why should I differently?

I'm seriously getting to the point that I am not selfish enough to end my life but not strong enough to keep living.
    "I'm Gar and I'm proud" -slytovhand